Chiry-Ourscamp: The abbey and the Tourist Information Centre

© JP Gilson / Pays Sources et Vallées

"Red Line" Distance 5 km

 

The Notre-Dame d’Ourscamp Cistercian Abbey was founded in 1129. Sold as a state-owned property during the French Revolution in 1792, the estate later welcomed a mill, considered in 1863 one of the most beautiful cotton factories in all of France. On the eve of the war, the factory employed 558 persons. After the stabilization of the frontline, in mid-September 1914, this site found itself 2 km behind the first German line. German soldiers on leave from the front came here to rest, and the monastic and industrial buildings served as warehouses. From time to time, French artillery shelled the hamlet of Ourscamp. On 15 February 1915, a shell hit the textile factory and the resulting fire immediately spread. This fire lasted three days, destroying much of the factory, as well as the old abbey buildings, of which only the spectacular ruins today remain. The cotton mill was not rebuilt following the war.

 

At the Deux Vallées Tourist Information Centre, discover an area dedicated to the Musée Territoire 14-18: temporary exhibitions, practical information, and the starting points of hikes.   Thanks to the "Red Line" video-guide, experience the highlights of the local battles and fights.

Renseignements
pratiques

 

Self-guided tours of the abbey: every day except Monday. Guided tours during the high season.

Full rate: €3

 

Open Wednesdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.

 

 

Maison du tourisme des Deux Vallées, entrée libre

Place Saint Eloi - 60138 Chiry-ourscamp - 03 44 44 03 73 et
jours et horaires d'ouverture : mercredi et vendredi : 9h30-12h30/14h00-18h30.

Samedi et dimanche : 9h00-12h30/14h00-18h30
fermé en janvier

www.tourismedesdeuxvallées.fr

 

Histoires 14-18 « La Ligne Rouge » , application disponible sur Android et IOS

Situer

Chiry-Ourscamp: The abbey and the Tourist Information Centre 49.535229865529296 2.970669686230508
Agrandir la carte
Chiry-Ourscamp: The abbey and the Tourist Information Centre 49.535229865529296 2.970669686230508
X

En images

  • Page top